Uncategorized

No Music? Awesome!

musicFor a week that started off on a less than upbeat note, it is seemingly on the crest of ending awesomely.  I have run the last two days in a row since I voluntarily messed up my routine by not running on Sunday.  Now, if you’ve read my previous posts you’ll remember that I did not like running without music previously.  That doesn’t seem to be the case any longer.  I would have to say that I am now on the side of not having music while running.  If not so I can focus and concentrate on my form, my speed and even my enjoyment of running, definately because I am TONS faster not having music.  Now this could be argued by many to be a coincidence but I do not think so.  Each time I have run without the benefit of music to carry me over the miles I have improved my time.  At first it was just by 5 or 10 seconds but it has definately moved into the significant category.  I was consistently running 9:00 – 9:15 minute miles regularly while running with music.  My half marathon split, which I did end up having to run without music, was 9:15 so I didn’t think anything about this.  Since my race and being forced to run 13 miles without music I have left my tunes out of my routine and am averaging between 8:30 and 9:00 without fail.  Yesterday I ran 8:25 and today I ran 8:22!

Now I did only run 3.18 and 3.06 respectively and some may attribute the improved time to the shorter run but even when I am running 5-6 on the long runs over each weekend I’m averaging beween 8:40 and 9:00 per mile.  Regardless of the reason I am happy to improved my time by such a big chunk of time.  At the end of the day, all that matters really is that I’m getting out there and making time to run and exercise regularly.  I love learning about my running and achieving goals both set and unexpected.  It helps to keep it fun and keep me motivated to continue to keep putting one foot in front of the other one day at a time.

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

