Uncategorized

2014

2014

This past week (not sure what day exactly) marked the first day in 2.5 years since I began running that I HAD to get out and go for a run.  Not because I was going to implode….although that does creep up on me still, but because the day just called me to get out there.  It was warm and overcast but not raining or snowing, mild and just seemed to be the perfect day.  Usually I want to go for a run and plan it in as many days as I can but on this particular day I felt compelled to go out and run.  It was great.  My brain is usually thinking about it daily and IT wants to go and my legs are usually in compliance to follow suit but I don’t think I’ve ever been drawn to run like a moth to the blacklight.  Wierd but a welcomed experience.  I couldn’t change my sneakers fast enough to get out there.

Today I don’t feel up for running even though I am prepared to go running at lunch.  I actually won’t because I am under the weather a little and want more to go tomorrow on a day off than I want to go today on a work day.  So even though my intentions and actions were good, it will have to wait and hopefully the weather and my health are good tomorrow.  Tomorrow is New Years Eve.  As I think about all the changes that 2014 may bring me I hope that becoming a better runner is one of them.  I would like to complete 2 half marathons this coming year, one of which may be with my oldest son who I think is doing it to prove something to his father.  Everyone has a reason and I truly believe that no matter what your reason is, as long as it is strong and compelling it will guide you and motivate you to reach that finish line with a smile on your face and success in your heart.

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

