It's A Journey!

So Much Food!

nutrition bookSo I’m reading this new book about nutrition for marathoners and trying to do better at putting together good food, more food, healthier snacks for Rob and I.  As I posted last, I am using my fitness pal to track activities, water and food to maintain the right calories.  I’m not really a fan of juggling and rearranging in order to keep things in as good a balance as possible.  Eat and go is my motto but I am trying to find out how more food will fuel my body and how it will effect my weight.  I’ve maintained 150-155 for a couple of years now and I’m ok with that but now that I’m training for 2 half marathons I want to try to do a better job at giving my body what it needs.  I’m ok eating more for the most part because I’m averaging 10+ miles on my long runs now that race day is just a couple weeks away.  I have to say it’s kind of a pain in the ass to stop and put in what I’m planning on eating for the day each and every day and weekends are not happening.  I only do it during the week because I’m in front of the computer.

I am also trying out fueling for my race.  This week, if I don’t forget, I’ll try GU on my 11 miler to see how that goes.  I need to see what it does to me before race day.  I will not be the race day experimenter!  Thanks I’ll pass.  So that is the endeavor over the next few weeks.  Hopefully the extra food and tracking tool is helpful and does what I hope it does.  We’ll see.

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

