It's A Journey!

Two Days And Counting

keep-calm-the-countdown-is-on-2So this Saturday I will re-run my first half marathon.  I haven’t really thought much about it in comparison to the first time I ran it.  There’s nothing like the first time running a half marathon and I’m sure the same goes for a marathon itself.   I am not there yet and may never be, although, I have given the subject some serious thought lately.  I’ve thought about what my purpose in running races is.  I don’t mean why I run, I mean what is my methodology.  Which races to run, do I run them more than once etc.  I have never been one to re-anything.  I don’t like re-reading books because I already know what’s going to happen.  It’s not fun re-reading to me.  I will see if races follow suit or if re-running one is inspirational or still fun.  I’ve thought about being a medal monger and only running races with fun medals.  Truthfully that is motivational for me, although since my friend Patty died, and my Twitter friend Brian (@cledawgs) runs for Cancer, I have thought about cause running.  Not totally my thing either.

I signed up because it’s not too far away and not too expensive.  I don’t have to pay for airfare to get there or a hotel or meals or any of that.  If I want to do that I’ll go visit my parents in VA like I did in Aug and run a race there.  I ran the Lynchburg Half in August but tied it to a visit to justify it.  I guess my purpose outside of the aforementioned is to better my time.  That’s it but for me that’s enough for now.

I have no idea if I would ever want to try to get sponsored for a race because truthfully there are many others who are far better runners that would be a better investment than I would.  Not being mean, just being honest.  I wouldn’t consider it without seriously considering running a marathon …like having signed up or nearly ready to sign up.  I don’t know what’s involved in that but if it  involves leaving work I’m out.  No can do but I could find a local running group or someone I know that lives nearby who has run a marathon and would want to train with me.  It would have to be someone that runs near my pace so I don’t die from exertion or from falling asleep trying to run at their pace.  LOL.

I don’t know what the future holds for me exactly but I know it involves running for as long as I can.  I’m excited about this race like a parent gets excited about going to Disney with the family but not for the first time.  Weird but that’s how I think of it.  So in two days I will do my first “re-run” completing my third half marathon and ending my personal 2014 season.  On deck for goals next year are 3 half marathons but I’m not sure which ones yet.  I may have other goals but that is to be determined later.

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

