Uncategorized

Done Deal

groupYesterday I finally did something new…I joined (in body only) a running group on their weekly run.  I have been toying with the idea of joining a running group because I’m toying with the idea of running a full marathon.  I know I want help to mentally wrap my mind around that feat and as much as I hate asking for help, I’m surrounding myself with people that I know would support me if I joined their group.  Now this would mean adjusting a few things possibly.  This group runs long runs on Saturdays which is just really hard for me to do…this means my full marathon may have to wait until Fall 2018 when my last child will graduate.  I don’t want to give up being at every game and Saturdays are game days.  I’ll work on this as I go BUT for now I took a step in the right direction.

I reached out to the group leader Sandy who invited me to join them.  So I decided I should go make some new friends and I did!  The group was fun and nice and it was so wonderful to have people to talk to during my run.  Sandy, who is one giant muscle and a WAY better runner than I am, stayed with me for all 6 (and one extra) miles.  I had 7 to do and she didn’t quit on me just because she was done with what she had to do at that moment.  She ran 2 miles to meet the group, 7 miles with me and two more back to her house.  Now if that doesn’t seem awesome enough, I’ll just add that she ran 18 on Friday…yep 18.  That blows my mind but someday maybe I’ll be amazing someone with my fabulous 18 mile runs too!  LOL

Now, the funny thing is that I thought I was soooo slow. I was slow in the sense that this woman probably runs a 7:30 or 8:00 minute mile.  She just looks like a runner and I’m sure I dwarfed her just by running next to her.  The first two miles were all uphill.  Nothing like my Virginia hill but uphill just the same and being a brand new course, those hills tend to be a bit challenging.  So I looked up my splits just to see how much I held Sandy back… what to my wondering eyes should appear….

sept 20 splits I did not have the horribly slow miles that I envisioned and felt.  Mile 2 was definitely the hardest or so it felt but according to Garmin, Mile 4 was slower.  What really made me laugh is that mile 5,6 and 7 were quite fast for me.  It HAD to be group.  So I think I will join this group.  They seemed like a group I could be part of and may just be the help I need to “man up” and do the big one.  We’ll see.

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

