It's A Journey!

Morning Runs

10-16There are not too many days when I run further than I am supposed to outside of under .25 mile.  No run is ever exact except on the occasion.  Today I decided mid-run to tack on a mile to my run just because it was a wonderful morning and I felt pretty good.  Now, going from 3 to 4 isn’t earth shattering but it makes me smile because I put in the additional effort.  It’s the little things that make a day happy. If you are struggling for your happy face, put your shoes on, and go out for something….a walk, a run, a job, a bike ride ..whatever.  Just go and remember that nothing you don’t want to can ever hurt you if you don’t let it and you can do anything you set your mind to.

We exist in the world we make and we all have bad days and good days because we are human.  “It is what it is” is a way of life and a motto that most days I can tolerate and live by.  The road I choose can be long or short as long as I accept the road I choose and see it through.  Today I chose the long road and it was a good decision.  Time, fresh air and a sunrise have a funny way of giving me an emotional cleansing that sets my ship right for the day’s sail.  Today my ship was enjoying the sunrise and just motored on through an extra mile.  The sunrise was a wonderful canvas that had pink and purple splattered here and there.  The air was crisp with pockets of warmth that reminded me of summer nights not so far away.  These are the mornings that strengthen me from the inside out and remind me that I am very fortunate in all that I have.  Even my heartaches are fortunate lessons that I try to draw understanding from and use to better myself.  I am not perfect.  Not even close to perfect but that’s the way it should be.

As I run I think about my life and sort through impulsive statements and thoughts that could spell disaster and make realizations that keep me grounded.  I am reminded as my feet hit the pavement one in front of the other for many steps that all I can do is control myself.  Breathe in the fresh morning air.  Breathe out negativity.  As the sun rises it drives away many of my shadows of sad/bad/ unhappy thoughts.  These are the mornings when I am truly happy to run.  I am thankful for all things that grace my life and for the strength to be running when many cannot.  I think of my kids many days and how much I love them.  They are my reasons for having strength and perseverance and not losing control of myself or making terrible decisions.  Now, I don’t bow my head as often as I should, I don’t attend church like I should or tithe regularly …like I said, I am not even remotely in the realm of slightly perfect. I do however, think thanks many times throughout the day, especially when I am out communing with the morning.  I run because I say I do, because I can, because I encourage others to do so, because I need to, because I want to, because because because.  Mornings like these are my favorite and I love every one of them.  I gain perspective out there in the dark all alone just God and me having a chat.

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

