It's A Journey!

Gatorade is My Hero!

gatoradeYou know what you know but sometimes you have to take what you know and apply it outside where you know it.  I for example, know that a Gatorade – water mix is great for my races but I don’t usually apply Gatorade to my everyday runs.  Sometimes we get stuck in a rut of where we think things belong and don’t take a minute to think about where else they might be good. This summer feels so hard running for me.  My everything swells up now especially my legs.  It happens when I sit on a stool and when I’m out running in the heat.  This weekend I decided to run with straight Gatorade.  I wasn’t sure about doing that …what if I needed water instead?  I don’t like to carry anything with me on my runs but will in the heat or a run longer than say 6 miles. Forget running with two things, one for each hand…that’s like running in shackles for me.  Not happening.  I decided to risk it and go Gatorade only.  What happened?  I had a much better run that’s what happened!  I learned that I need straight Gatorade in the heat.  I felt better, still stopped at every mile to take a sip but not for long and I didn’t feel totally wiped out when I was done.  Gatorade isn’t for everyone but it is for me!  I love running lessons because they make me stronger and a better runner overall.  so now it’s on to how do I make my chubby little legs feel lighter and move with more ease.  I don’t think that one is as easy for a short stubby Ukranian but it can’t hurt to try!

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

