It's A Journey!

3 Things

one-runSometimes life is so simple that when you have these moments of realization amidst the challenges that we face and the day to day tasks we take on, it stops us in our tracks.  I saw a video of @McConaughey at an awards ceremony recently and his little 3 minute speech was one of those moments for me.  I stopped to think about it.  In life there are 3 things that motivate him which we all should give thought to and define for ourselves.

  • We should have someone to look up to
  • We should have something to look forward to
  • We should have someone to chase (who is your hero)

These things seem so simple yet they are probably the three things we think about least.  Life is truly very simple when we step away from the craziness that we invoke upon ourselves each day.  We must work to eat and pay bills.  We have children who have the luxury of doing a million things that add to the busy life we call hectic. Those activities inevitably cost money and our hysterically boisterous commotion of a life just keeps going in circles while we wonder why we don’t have what we want.  Step away from that and define these three things for yourself and suddenly what you “need” will rise to the surface and lay a much more clear path to getting it.  There are nice to have’s and need to have’s and as a people we misclassify wants as needs, getting lost in a process the is superfluous at best.  Why do we refocus when people die using phrases like “life is short”  or “I wish I had”?  If we define our 3 things there will be less use of these statements because our focus will be much clearer.

These three things in part are what I think about when I run.  The road is a place for me to work shit out.  To think about my life and where I am going and how I am getting there.  I think a lot about priorities and try to de-clutter my mind with woulda coulda shoulda or things I don’t have to focus on what I do have.  I think a lot about what if I chased what I don’t have, would the grass really be greener or would I just realize that the sun was shining brighter at that moment over the fence.  Most likely the latter is true and I come back to center to appreciate all I have remembering what is really important in my life.  Running has been good to me in many ways.  It has reshaped a misshapen me in mind, body and spirit.  It has been my amazing therapist, councilor and friend in good and bad times and I owe my life to running quite literally.

simple-life

Whether you run or not doesn’t matter.  Yes, I think everyone should have some level of fitness, however the more important thing is finding your 3 things and simplifying your life.  Life is short and you should appreciate and enjoy it not just on occasion but every single day and give thanks for all you have.  Today is a great day to begin anew.  You just need to take the first step.

HAPPY RUNNING!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

