It's A Journey!

Being Grateful

my-boysToday I am grateful for this…my sons in my house.  My oldest is on my couch and my other son is sitting hanging out  .  Johnny started college in September and lives away and I miss him a lot.  James i get to see every day and that is wonderful.  I took this picture initially because I was so happy to be able to see them together all comfy on my couches but then it dawned on me that I should be grateful for another reason on this day.  It occurred to me that my son is home.  He didn’t enlist so he was never really away but as I enjoy him being home and my other son sitting next to him some mothers don’t get that  today.  Some miss their sons as they are away and some miss their babies who gave the ultimate sacrifice.  I am so lucky and so grateful.  As I sit here eating my banana and drinking my coffee with the ability to do whatever I want today,  I say  Thank You to all the veterans alive today and those passed on for sacrificing so I may sit here enjoying my sons and the semblance of my normalcy and happiness in a free world of this great nation.  As I ran today I ran further than my normal 3 miles as a little sacrifice.  It was only 4 so nothing amazing but it was hilly so it felt like a sacrifice I guess.  I thought about those who couldn’t run today and ran for them.  I thought about those who make my world free and ran in thanks and smiled knowing that I was going home to see my sons and that freedom doesn’t come cheap to others who provide it to me.  I am the luckiest person in the world right now.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

