Random Thoughts

Knowing The Danger Zone

fearThe truth is that when you finally know the difference between sucking it up and preventing disaster, you’ve graduated to the experienced runner status.  There’s a distinct difference in knowing when danger to yourself is lurking about and knowing when you can push yourself through some sniffles.  When I woke up this morning I felt like I was teetering on my tippee toes over a ravine of molting lava with nothing to hold on to.  My throat was scratchy to the point of not wanting to cough at all.  The soreness was down to about my breast bone which for me, is just about the point where the next step is pneumonia or bronchitis or both.  I had set my running gear out last night probably because when I’m sick, I’m less sick feeling in the afternoon and evening.  I felt like I could do it so I prepared to do so.  As soon as I woke up I knew that if I should venture out on a run, breathing in the cold air would be the worst thing I could do  and would be something I’d pay for less tomorrow but definitely horribly so on Christmas day.  I knew it without even thinking about it and decided that I was at my danger threshold and stayed inside without a run or a workout for the second day in a row.  I don’t like resting because to me it feels lazy even though it’s good for me.  I like Pneumonia/ Bronchitis less than resting so I opted for the lesser of two evils.  Always a good choice to err on the side of caution and I’ll be happier in a day or so when I can go running without hacking instead of heading to the E.R. because I was an idiot.  So as I head into 2017 I make no resolutions that are new, just wish that I can continue to have my head screwed on straight and make good and healthy decisions that help me reach my goals!

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

