Random Thoughts

I’d Like To Thank Running!

thank-you-runningI know it doesn’t actually fix everything but sometimes it just makes you feel better.  This morning I realized that I don’t have another week before I have to bring my son back to school.  I don’t know why I thought that because clearly every other parent on social media has started posting their goodbyes.  I just didn’t think it was that time.  I’ve so enjoyed having him home and seeing him in person every day and making him iced coffee and getting hugs and kisses.  I don’t know if I’m sad because I’m going to miss him so much again or if I’m going to miss him so much because this semester isn’t going to be like last semester when I saw him all the time.  There are not many times that I’ll be able to spend with him and not many weekends that he’ll be home.  There is just one break and it just doesn’t seem like it will be enough.  What parent on this planet ever enjoys this?  It’s like torture all over again and I truly hate it.  So despite my sore hips I headed out for a little run just to clear the blues out.  Running makes everything seem ok.  It gives hope to the seemingly hopeless, endorphins to the angry, happy to the sad and always seems to be the Nexus in my day.  No matter what I’m feeling or going through, unlike people who should be but aren’t, running is always there for me.  It listens to me cry, yell and sing without complaining or pointing out the obvious things that I should focus on.  It lets me vent & lets me be me.  It holds my hand,  pats my back and hugs me exactly when I need it to.  Running is like the best friend and a free therapist all rolled in one.  Today running was just my friend patting my back and letting me sort of mope for a mile before encouraging me to just enjoy the run and telling me not to worry about Johnny leaving.  I hate this part but I know he’ll be fine and as sad as I feel, so will I.  I’d like to thank running for never failing me and for being exactly what I need when I need it.  I Love Running!

HAPPY RUNNING!

 

PS: as a side note I found out after this post that I in fact DO have an extra week with my son home so happy day!

Leave a Reply

