It's A Journey!

My Two Cents

Running changed my life and has become almost as necessary to me as food.  I crave it daily and I’m cranky when I don’t get it.  I feel like everyone should love at least something as much as I love running.  I’ve gotten so much from it both physically and mentally and I always want to talk about it to everyone.  I feel like I know a fair amount about it and have a short list of the MOST important things to remember about being a runner.  One of the most important things at least for me is to have someone to look up to and follow and learn from.

Can I just tell you how much I LOVE Kelly Roberts!!  OMG I can relate to her in so many ways.  I love her self bashing in the middle of a run, I love her real talk about what running is like, her whole process of running a marathon and just how much fun she has and how much running means to her.  Tons of people I’m sure can relate to her.  I love that she loves food like me, I love that she wants to help other people get through / start/ love running too.  I totally love her honesty and wish she lived near me.  She’s answered all my questions that plague me in my aloneness running.  The more I watch her the more I laugh and want to keep running.  I have become somewhat obsessed with her because I watch every day probably because she teaches me so much and keeps my shit real so I don’t expect too much from myself and at the end of the day I want to have fun most.

Everyone needs to have someone to look up to for real.  I admire many people for many reasons but Kelly is definitely at the top of my important list.  Having someone to look up to and learn from is super important especially for someone like myself who is primarily a sole runner in a suburb with a busy life with kids.  There are so many important things that a runner should do but I would say my top 10 are:

  • run smart
  • drink lots of water
  • eat wisely
  • get lots of rest
  • be realistic in your goals and how much you push yourself
  • have goals
  • read as much as you can about running
  • make friends with other runners
  • have fun or stop running
  • you can do anything you set your mind to

So if you are a runner, thanks for reading and keep running.  If you don’t run and want to, what are you waiting for?  Get out there and have fun!

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

