It's A Journey!

Regression & Discipline

I’ve heard from many people in my life how hard starting over again is.  Whether it be a diet, fitness or life in general, the consensus is that it sucks to be back at the beginning re-purposing and rebuilding.  I myself have in fact been back at the beginning on a few occasions and it’s so hard to get back to where you left off and to find motivation to try again.  This week I returned from vacation in Va and found that I benefited from the hills there which made my morning run here seem easier.  What I didn’t do however while there, was do strength training except one time.  That means that in 2 weeks I’ve done only 1 Tabata interval weight session.  When you quit for a long period of time you expect regression and go into your rebuild with expected trepidation to what is to come.  When it’s only been 2 weeks, not so much.  Today I did my first Tabata workout the same way I’ve been doing it for months.  I used my  10 lb weights which is where I left off and surprisingly they weren’t as easy to sling around.  I don’t know why I thought I wouldn’t have regressed a little but I didn’t and it made me realize just how diligent and consistent you must remain to fitness even when on vacation.  Don’t get me wrong, I will get back what I lost, I was just surprised by how fast my strength regressed.  Now, I am quite tired from a week of not sleeping right and a couple of later nights getting to bed so maybe that had something to do with how heavy that 10 lbs felt.  Whether it got lost or I am just struggling today or both, the lesson here is finding the courage and mental fortitude to stay the path to your goals.  Don’t let your situation dictate your outcome.  Take Rocky Balboa for example.  When he went to Russia in Rocky IV, he was out in the wilderness with no fancy equipment to train on and 3 feet of snow on the ground that might have deterred him and sent him home having quit.  As those of you know who watched the Rocky series, he didn’t quit.  In fact he creatively improvised and was better for it.  He lugged tree trunks through the snow, did vertical sit ups in the barn, ran through frigid water, pulled a field plow, sawed trees and other tasks with everyday things to get to where he needed to be.  If you don’t have a gym, buy weights and work out at home and turn your cell phone off.  Do sit ups on the floor or on a medicine ball.  lift a 10 lb bag of potatoes, run around the block, do squats while watching a movie.  The point is that where there’s a will, there’s a way ..always!  Even if you do a modified and shortened version of a workout while on vacation, make the time and do it or you’ll pay for it when you get home.  Fitness helps to keep us healthy and young in heart and body and mind.  It relieves stress and keeps us moving as long as we take the time to do it.  I for one do not wish to be a feeble old lady who needs help putting her shoes on or eating or getting dressed.  I want to live as long as I can with as much strength and movement as I can possibly retain and that won’t come by wishing for it.  It comes through hard work and discipline.  There are no excuses including vacations for laziness.  Everyone can do something even if it’s just a little bit.  Remember it’s a marathon not a sprint and it’s one day at a time, one foot in front of the other.  Keep going!  You can do it, I know you can!

HAPPY RUNNING!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

