2017 · accountability · Attitude · Bad Habits · goals · Motivating Others

Laziness &The Lotophagi

I am so tired right now from working all weekend on sets. I went from Art Department -froo froo, making it pretty to construction person wielding a screw gun and a drill.  Although screwing 3″ nails into 2×4’s isn’t “hard” per se, my body feels like it was at this very moment.  Last night I thought I would go for a run this morning but this morning my body informed me it was too tired to run.  After some bargaining it agreed that we could do some Tabata but not a full hour which was just fine by me.  49 minutes later and much grumbling through every single exercise, I was done.  Can I just tell you how heavy 10lbs feels when you’re tired.  VERY!  Nonetheless I finished fairly respectably and gave it a good push for what was in my tank.  I could have taken a day off and it would have been fine.  I could have just ignored the fact that goals don’t happen by themselves but the fact is that goals don’t happen by themselves.  They take dedication and consistency even on the days that you don’t feel like doing anything.  Today was that day for me.  Having pushed myself through a workout makes me feel powerful and gives me that feeling of proven application to back up the words of wisdom when I tell someone that fitness takes sacrifice and dedication.  As I have found out in the past, laziness is all too easy to fall back into like the lotophagi who ate the lotus fruits as depicted in Greek Mythology.  Laziness used to be my habit until I broke free and took my life back.  It’s a temptress that is difficult to break free from if you don’t stay focused.  I have bad days where I just can’t get it together to do anything but today isn’t one of them thank goodness!  Today is a win for me so we will continue to take it one day at a time making progress, albeit slow progress toward the longest and healthiest life that I can possibly have.

Have you had tough days where you just didn’t think you could motivate yourself?   How did you push yourself to get it done?

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

