It's A Journey!

Either I’m getting better at running faster or I’m just in better shape.  Either way, I have been able to pull off a few miles under 9:00 which I haven’t seen in a LOOOOOONG time.  I feel awesome just because I always do when I’m running but this last week I feel fast like a cheetah hitting sub 9’s.  I imaging, knowing it’s just in my head, that the drivers that pass turn their head to look at me and think to themselves “wow, look at that girl go!”  It’s probably more like “hey she’s running funny.  Is she ok?” I have what my kids refer to as the BRENNA WOBBLE.  Yep I am a category!  That’s ok, I think it’s cute that they have a name for it.  They can actually pick me out of a crowd of many many people just by the way I move.  It amuses me.

Maybe hitting those times (8:53 mile 4 today) is because in the back of my mind I want it more and more.  I think about improved times during every run and try to get at least one mile that skirts the nine minute mark.  I think once you set your mind to something it just happens.  I’m not one for excuses, in fact I hate people that just find one for everything.  When I hear “I can’t” and I know that you in fact CAN but just don’t want to it makes me insane!  Just who I am.  What will be interesting to see is what some speed workouts do for hitting those marks.  We’ll see.

What are some goals you’ve been surprised that you hit?  Did it drive you to set bigger goals or keep pushing to hit it consistently?

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

