Random Thoughts

One Of My Biggest Fitness Pet Peeves

I have learned that I cannot stand people who make excuses about everything.  There are other things that bug me like new years resolites (is that even a word?) and those on crazy crash diets of water and rice crackers while working out for a dangerously long period of time.   I digress… back to excuses.  I don’t understand it, I don’t do it and it makes me crazy.  When people give me kuddos for working out like I do then follow it with something like “I wish I could but…”   or even better “I can’t” I’ve learned to just smile and keep my comments to myself so  I don’t sound like an asshole.  What they should say is “I don’t want to make time for working out”.  If you wanted to, you’d do it. I get up at 5am to get my family ready for work then at 6am it’s me time.  I’ve been known to get up at 4:30 to get a run in and against my desire to sleep, I have worked out as late as 9pm.  You just have to do it and I wish people would start saying I don’t want to instead of I can’t.  I would venture to say that if that started happening that people would start making time.  How long can one say I don’t want to as an excuse and continue to be lazy while complaining about their fitness level or whining about how everyone else looks good?  You just have to do it and be committed to it.  The rest will take care of itself.

What are some of your pet peeves?

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

