2017 · Attitude · brenna gimler · commitments · Discipline · goals · God · Hitting your Goals · Marathon · motivation · Pace · Planning

Once It’s Out There On The Wall

I have had a few goals in my time  running and a few in my life.  I read a lot about running and about other people’s running goals and trials, successes and failures.  If we don’t set goals we don’t have a reason to push ourselves to improve and to step out of our comfort zone in order to achieve them.  When I weighted 200 lbs and wanted to lose weight the goal was to lose weight simply by running.  I did it.  When I wanted to run a half marathon I signed up, trained and I did it because I set the goal.  One thing I know about goals is that if you are afraid of them you should definitely put it out there for everyone in the world to see, tell your close friends and just do it!  The thing about the running community is that we have all failed at some running goal at least once so if I fail I don’t feel like anyone would have anything but encouraging things to say.  Runners are just like that and that is one of the greatest things about us.  So I’ve talked about the big “M” for a little while now.  Wanting to, hoping to, thinking I might but not quite yet because my son is still in High School and I feel like training would take away from the time I feel like I want to give him as I did his siblings.  My time is coming make no mistake about it and I’m looking forward to it.  At this point it’s about a year and a half before I could even make my first attempt.  The improvements that need to be made in order to successfully achieve this are great in that I will have to work my ass off to get there.  I’m willing and willing is all you need when you marry it with determination and Ukrainian stubbornness.

So a few posts ago, I told you about someone who told me “yeah, good luck with that” in retort to my statement that “anything you can do I can do better”.  It’s been in my craw ever since just stewing and brewing and marinating itself into obsession.  Don’t tell me I can’t because I will make it my mission to throw it in your face.  So there it was like this horrible dangling participle floating in the air begging me to take it on. How can I not chicken out of this?  If no one knows then I could just forget it for a while or even forever and no one would be the wiser!  But what I would never want to happen is to get old and never have tried to do it.  I can live with failing at it because at least I tried to and that is respectable.  So today, I put that goal up on my wall to look at every day.  To keep in the back of my mind every minute and to take with me in my heart on every run.  It’s now up there for real people to see other than me.  It isn’t a secret any longer and even though this scares the shit out of me, @KellyKKRoberts made me believe that trying is what we do and that to give it your all is all we can do.  Fail or succeed to meet the goal is less important than having tried. So here it is.  The 9:30 average paced runner, 2:14 half marathoner is setting a goal for the big M.  No date yet but training and working toward this goal starts now.  Hanging on my wall at work and now here for the world to see… my marathon goal times now on the proverbial record…

God help me!

HAPPY RUNNING!

 

Leave a Reply

