2017 · Attitude · being brave · brenna gimler · commitments · Discipline · Encouraging

A Good Start

So, today was day one after letting it all hang out there in the wind yesterday.  Again, no date yet but we need to see what this old girl can put up and what my endurance and tolerance levels are in order to truly decide if the lofty goal I just set is actually doable.  Last night I did some speed work on the DM at the gym but only 3 miles because it was so damn hot in the gym I had to cut it short.  Today I hit the ground running intending to get my usual 3-5 miles in.  Somewhere in the first mile my subconscious decided that it was going to test my tolerance a bit and my legs obeyed.  My lazy pace is around a 10 minute mile.  My working pace is around 9:30 and my kick ass pace is anything under 9:30 these days.  If you read yesterdays post you will realize that this will not cut it if I am going to achieve that goal.  Now I do know that today is day ONE and I certainly do not expect to be close to goal at this time, just looking to see where I’m at with moderate to high effort so I can gauge where to focus.  So I ran 5 miles this morning.  I stopped every single mile mostly to rest but after mile 1 I had to shed a layer.  All the rest of 2-5 I needed to catch my breath.  I knew I was pushing it and as each mile buzzed on my wrist I was pleasantly surprised to find that at about 80% effort I was running sub 9.  My chest didn’t burn so I knew I was ok, my legs weren’t going to give out so I kept going and I didn’t puke so I knew I wasn’t working too hard. To my chagrin, I managed the following splits: 9:01, 8:50, 8:46, 8:35, 8:03 which not only impressed me but told me my goal is not too much of a pipe dream.  I realize this was just 5 miles not 26.2 and I don’t think I could manage that pace longer than I had without serious effort at micro managing fuel, hydration and mental fortitude.  The first two are easy to learn, the last one will take some serious effort which may take the help of someone who has done it before in order to bind my own “deathly hallows” to get the job done.

So I’m not in a bad place, not in the perfect place, just in a really good place right now and better situated than I originally thought to make it happen.  So time + effort + adjustments + consistency are my plan.  Reading a ton is about to become a bigger hobby to educate myself so I don’t hurt myself.  I’m 48 not 28 and I don’t have aspirations of breaking any world records, just one goal which isn’t over inflated.  I now believe in what I’m doing more than I did yesterday and hope to maintain that even on the hard days in a plan that I have yet to write down and commit to.  All you need to do is want to and the rest will fall into place right?

What goals have you set that made you nervous?  How did you deal with it?

HAPPY RUNNING!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

