2017 · brenna gimler · fitness schedule · Marathon · Planning · Priorities · Tabata

Having Options

The show is over, the sun is up late into the evenings, it’s warm out in the morning and now at night too…oh the workout options I have just gained for the next 6 months!  I miss it when we do the shows because days become a blur of lost nights and weekends creating, building and painting sets for the show.  It’s months and months of work both at home and at the school that pretty much eliminate my ability to workout at night.  Don’t get me wrong, I love getting up and out early in the morning and getting it over with first thing but I like to switch it up sometimes and do my workouts at night instead.  I also like to do two-fers (working out in the morning and at night) a couple of times a week.  The responsibility of the show as much as I love those days restricts me to mornings only.  That works and I do it because I have to but now that my day is mine I feel really good about having my nights back.  Today, because yesterday was such a hard workout on my body, I’ll do my Tabata workout after work so I have a few extra hours to rest.  Having nights backs is wonderful since mid days are now headed into summer weather and the “too hot and dangerous to run outside” weather is upon us.  Between the gym membership that rarely gets used but is handy to have when I need it and an available schedule, I’m excited to once again step it up and take it to the next level in strength training.  Let’s see what I can do!  I need to work on core a lot if I am going to improve my pace enough to seriously tackle my new goal.  I need to work on my legs to round out their ability to hold me up for 26.2 miles and I need to cut extra body fat where it truly is extra.  I can do more of that now that I have the time and have options on what I do and when.  It’s like a breath of fresh air and I always look forward to this time of the year and I will push myself to do my best to be my best because I don’t have a trainer by my side helping me stay the course.

What things do you appreciate that you don’t always have the opportunity to do?

HAPPY RUNNING!

One thought on “Having Options

  1. Off work right now so enjoying being able to take all the time I want at the gym, and sometimes even follow it up with a mid-morning yoga class. Routine is great and I’ll get back into it when I have to but you are right, sometimes it is nice to switch it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

