It's A Journey!

My Running Friends

Today as I was on my regular run I decided to run slower than my body probably would have taken off without direction.  I ran slower because one of my running friends asked me if I ever run slow.  Well the answer to that is yes but lately it’s no.  So being funny or at least trying to I purposely ran close to a 10 minute mile for the 3 that I put up today.  I told her it was for her and it amused her which was my intent.  I have to say that I love my running friends because they keep me realistic, super motivated and brave.  Without them I would run too fast all the time, would not vary my workouts and would be way too hard on myself.  My friends encourage me and cheer for me when I do something successful and they never poo-poo even the small success’.  My friends always have a story of something I have not yet and may not experience that teaches me what to look for and how to handle those things.  My friends have prepared me for bad runs because they have been there.  My running friends are the people who are now my friends who I love talking to, running with and have a lot in common.  They are my confidants, my voices of reason and my cheerleaders.  My friends sign up for races because I get all excited about running them and they don’t mind when I send them stupid meme’s in the middle of the day just because I thought they were funny.  They are my voice of reason and they pretty much just accept me for who I am, quirks and all!  I thought about them as I ran today and was just thankful to have them to share my running life in part.  They are funny, crazy, tolerant, understanding, encouraging, brave, bold, daring and so many other words that inspire me every day.  Some I have known longer than others but each of them is just as important to me and all for very different reasons under the same umbrella.

So here’s a cheer to my running friends who are my extended family and deserve a thank you for keeping me going every day.  I love each of you for all that you are to me and for listening to my incessant ramblings that always are about fitness and having fun.  You are good sports and I’m happy to call you my friends!

Do you have people that share in your passion?

HAPPY RUNNING!

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

