Be The Inspiration

Last night I did workout #2 in my basement and my son joined me.  He joined me more out of guilt for not wanting to and to avoid saying no again.  He isn’t the working out type.  Unlike my oldest son, he doesn’t want to work out.  He does do sports in school but doesn’t want to do the work to become as good as he can be at them.  Despite all our encouragement, nagging and pleading with him to stay healthy and put some effort into it, he avoids working out like the plague.  He works out sometimes with his brother and preferably if his father is also working out since his brother is kind of hard on his lack of form, effort and enthusiasm. Sometimes occasionally he will go for a run between 1-3 miles on his own but usually it’s because Football season will be starting or because he is trying to get his wind for Wrestling and sometimes it’s just to keep us off his back I think.  He will come with me when I run but usually takes the easy road out and rides his bike next to me.  Sometimes he runs with me but not usually and definitely not when it’s hot out because he isn’t good in the heat.

So last night he came down with me and decided to ride the bike first.  I did the second half of my Tabata workout which was everything but Abs since I did those in the morning. He did the bike that for about 15 or so minutes and then did two or three TRX exercises Tabata style and then he was done.  It was a “Meh” workout at best in my opinion.  I thought about that for a moment and I decided that it was better for him to have come down and done something than for him to have done nothing at all.  I remember being his age and the thought of working out.  I didn’t do that faithfully or nearly at all until I was in my 40’s and depressed and gaining weight.  I needed a reason that motivated me all by myself and I assume he will get there some day I hope.  It doesn’t matter how many times I ask, beg, nag or guilt or plead with him to work out because it won’t happen until he WANTS it to happen.  It’s like anything we do in this life.  You have to want to do it to make it happen and not find excuses not to do it.  He won’t until he wants to, period so until that time I believe it is my job to keep asking and inviting him to join me.  I know how hard it is trying to do something on your own without support so I will be his support system and just be there when / if he needs me to help him.  That’s all I can do.

I will continue to be the best me that I can and trying to be an example and a beacon of inspiration for my kids and anyone who wants to try who might just need support. Those are the people who don’t know how to start or keep going. The ones who have to talk themselves out of quitting every day who just need some encouragement.  THAT is who I feel compelled to reach out to.  That’s what I feel my job is at the moment so I will do it to the best of my ability.  Everyone starts somewhere and has someone from whom they draw inspiration and courage to try new things.  I run for those people because I was one of those people!  Those people who struggle every single day are best described by someone I admire every day and someone who makes me look forward to reading every blog and listening podcast that she puts out there for “those people” to read @KellyKKRoberts. Kelly Roberts is the Queen and Captain of the Sportsbra Squad.

I was a 3 miler until I met my friend Barbara who put it in my head that I could run 13.1 miles.  That seems like so long ago but I remember the conversation clearly and I remember thinking “can I?”  Turns out it sat in my ‘craw’ for a long time until I signed up for my first half marathon with encouragement from Barbara and my husband.  Look at me now!  Without someone to push me and allow me to go at my own pace I might not be where I am today.  I want to be able to do that same thing for anyone who might need it including my son, daughter and niece.

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

