It's A Journey!

My Biggest Reward

One of my favorite things about staying fit is being able to wear clothes that are not too big on purpose.  I spent a long time wearing boxy clothes and turtle necks that pretty much covered me up from neck to knees.  I hated the way I looked and did whatever I had to to cover that all up.  Since I began running and even more since I began strength training and riding my stationary bike, I can wear things that fit to my shape without worrying that I am drawing the wrong kind of attention or that someone will call animal control….kidding on that one but that’s how it felt.  I like wearing shorts even though my legs are not “perfect” and have cellulite frosting them pretty much from the knee up.  It’s ok, because first of all I’m 48 and will never again be 20.  Secondly I’m in the best shape of my life and feel great!  Tonight I have a date with my husband to attend an event at Symphony Hall in Boston.  This is so exciting in and of itself but what’s more exciting is that I bought a dress online that is form fitting and has this great print that I would never DARE wear back in the day when I was so self conscious.  This dress looks Damn good on me and makes me feel pretty.  It’s form fitting and clingy and you know what?  That’s ok with me.  Why?  Because all the work I do to run and stay in shape has paid off and will continue to do so for as long as I can do them.  I don’t need to feel like this every day but the confidence I have now because of running and working out is wonderful.  It’s an amazing thing after spending so long feeling sick to my stomach when I looked in the mirror to now look at myself and smile from every angle.  It’s my favorite benefit and improvement that only came to me through a lot of hard work and dedication.  Never give up!  Push through the hard days and stay the course until you get to where you want to be and most importantly, believe in yourself!  You’ll get there!  I’m here, I’m staying and I have running to thank for that.

What is your biggest reward from staying in shape?

HAPPY RUNNING!

Comments on: "My Biggest Reward" (1)

  1. My biggest reward from staying in shape is having more energy. Between reducing my anxiety, preventing depression, and giving my body the strength to be active every day I have so much more energy now that I run!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

