Only Runners

Today I ran a 10 Mile race with my friends.  It was awesome having friends with me.  We didn’t run together much but just having them there was amazing and invigorating and so freaking happy!  We are all different in so many ways but runners are wonderful people with an amazing comraderie even to strangers.  Today I had something happen to me that I’ve always feared.  I missed the turn markers.  This race was less than stellar in terms of most everything and the weather did a torrential downpour on us half way through.  It would have been ok but my watch and phone are cracked so water is NO BUENO!  So I was running respectable splits and would have hit my target finish time of sub 1:40:00 but I missed one of the turn markers.  All of a sudden in the pouring rain while trying to keep my watch dry and jump big puddles and not get hit by a car I found myself all alone.  I thought maybe I would see another runner around the corner but no…. I looked back and there was one of the girls I had met who came with one of my friends so I thought I was on the right track.  I kept running until a woman in a truck stopped me to tell me that the runner behind me asked her to tell me i missed a turn.  MISSED A TURN! uugghhhh!  I thanked her and started back and it was my new friend that I met earlier at the start of the race.  She stopped her race to get me back to mine.  Only runners would do this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This mishap is something that I have always dreaded.  What would I do?  Well now I know so it’s not so scary anymore.  I have my new friend to thank for that.  She’s a runner and we smile and say hello, cheer eachother on, pick eachother up, pat eachother on the back when things go wrong and we look out for eachother no matter what.  I don’t know how long I would have kept running in that direction but it was far less because she stopped and helped me.  It’s one of my favorite things about running.  We support each other.  So my overall time for 10 miles was more than I wanted but less than it could have been on the flip side.  I’ll take that!  I spent time with familiar smiling faces that mean the world to me and I met new friends and I’ll take that too!  These ladies, this sport mean the world to me.  I am so happy I started running!  I love you all!

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

