2017 · brenna gimler · fitness schedule · Good Running Gear · running · Running gear · Running in Pain · Running Knowledge · running problems · Smart Running · Tabata

IT was bound to happen!

It was bound to happen sooner or later and with all the training I’ve been doing sooner was more like IT.  IT is as you may have guessed, some minor and irregular discomfort on the outside corner  of my knee cap.  It’s been bothering me for a few days but infrequently.   Since my 10 mile race on Sunday following a dose of Ibuprofen, I thought it felt better at least I had no pain.  When I say pain I really mean uncomfortable and sudden twinges that are painful for a moment…stairs or if I put pressure on the knee leaning or getting up from sitting mainly.  When I’m at work or walking or just not running I’m fine.  Yesterday I went for a run and not 50 feet out of the gate what felt like a sudden shard of glass poking my knee caused me to hop and interrupt my motion for a moment.  It didn’t happen again but it did make me think to look it up to see what it could be even though I had a pretty good idea already.  Sure enough I didn’t have to look far before I found the obvious, IT Band Syndrome.  Iliotibial Band Syndrome aka IT Band Syndrome, shows up when the outside ligament running down the thigh (hip to the shin) is tight or inflamed. The IT band is attached to the knee and assists in stabilizing the joint. When it isn’t working properly, running and sometimes knee movement becomes uncomfortable and even painful.  If it isn’t monitored a happy runner can be taken off the road for quite a while.  Funny thing is that when you look it up on Google the first thing it says is to stop running.  LOL it’s almost like getting yelled at by the doctor.

So I’ll do some adjustments like taking today off from running and making it a Tabata strength training day which in order since I try to do it every other day if possible. Riding my bike is a great and recommended alternative in addition to swimming which I just haven’t found the time to add into my jam packed fitness schedule.  Hopefully a day off is all it needs.  I’m also proactively taking Ibuprofen for inflammation despite the fact that at the moment my legs don’t feel swollen nor does my knee feel tight.  Better safe than sorry.  I have so much going on this year in terms of races that I have to monitor regularly and modify whenever I can if I need to so I can make it to the end of the running season.  Yes, I take the winter off from racing.  I just don’t like winter races much but 8 – 9 months of the year I go at it hard so I need to be careful.  I

Since it just showed up all of a sudden and since my running shoes are just about ready to be changed out, I’m going to try that to see if maybe it was caused by end of life gear.  This time I’m going to try a pair of New Balance to see if I like them.  I have been a devoted Saucony disciple nearly exclusively give or take a few Reeboks and Asics here and there.  My friend runs in New Balance and loves them so we’re going to head over and see if we can find a pair we like.  Wouldn’t it be interesting if it was indeed caused from needing to change the guards so to speak.  We’ll see and advise.  Till then…

HAPPY RUNNING!

For more information about causes, prevention, symptoms and treatment of IT Band Syndrome you can read this article from Runners World http://www.runnersworld.com/tag/it-band-syndrome

Leave a Reply

