It's A Journey!

So yesterday I had an 11 mile run scheduled.  My wingman James was tired from a long hard day working on Saturday so I didn’t bother to wake him up at 6 to keep me company for my journey.  I left early so I hit the cool part of the day but sadly I did not escape the worst part, the humidity.  It was a tough run I’m not gonna lie about that.  I again intended to run slow knowing in my head how hard it is for me to actually slow down.  I figured if I could keep it to 10+ minute miles that would be good.  That wasn’t a problem yesterday.  Of my 11 miles most were where I wanted them except miles 3,4,5 and 11 which hit just under 10 but not by much.  Still too fast for what I was trying to practice but it’s ok, 7 of them were good.  Now, 7 of the 11 miles were good but mostly because it was horrible out.  I stopped every single mile to take a sip of fluid and rest for a minute.  This seems to be a habit on long runs these days but I’m not sure if it’s because it’s summer or just because no one really cares if I stop.  I in fact would recommend that to any other runner who was self conscious about it.  It was 71 when I left my house at 6:15 and of course I now wished i had gotten up at 4 instead but we’re here now so we make the best of it.  I don’t care about stopping.  Stopping every mile broke the run down for me into little tolerable pieces rather than struggling to do the entire thing or big sections without stopping.  The humidity killed me from mile 1.  Much of my run was shaded so thank God I wasn’t baking for 11 miles!   I knew it was going to be tough right out of the gate as I struggled to get my breathing under control before I even left my neighborhood.  So I reminded myself that it meant slow down and take it easy.  That’s how it went until mile 7.  When I hit 7 I was looking forward to being done and counting the minutes until the next mile buzzed on my watch so I could stop.  Mile 8 my husband, who was worried about me and checking on me regularly, suggested I take an alternate route back home that included a big downhill finish.  I didn’t even think about it.  If it was shaded and downhill, at that point, that was for me!  Everything after 8 was just hard.  My hips were hurting, my legs were getting tired and my upper body felt like I was running stiff because it too was tired.  After I started mile 8 I apparently didn’t hit the GO button on my watch the right way because it displayed the recovery heartrate message which means it’s stopped.  DAMN!  I ran a little bit not on the clock. Are you kidding me!  Any other day I would be ok with the error but today it was like slow motion torture that just didn’t seem to have an end.  SO, now I have a choice.  I can either finish the run and let my stats show that I didn’t complete 11 miles OR I could run a little more and make it right by my watch OR I could edit the mileage after I sync it.  I’m a little OCD sometimes because as tired as I was and as much as I was really struggling, I added a little side street so that when I got home my watch was right.  Control freak I know but I’ve run further before and it wasn’t all that far (less than .25 mile- NBD).  I was having such a hard time that mile 9 was a 12 minute mile….12 minutes!  For me that is super slow which is what I say I was trying to do but never accomplish because I just run too fast every single time. The worst part was I had to run PAST my house to hit 11 miles which totally sucked because I wanted to stop so badly.  Needless to say, the minute my watch beeped I halted immediately!  I was super happy to be done and pretty much considered that whole struggle equal to running with a blister.  Every mile hurts, you stop frequently (at least I would) and you cannot wait to be done!  I really wish James were with me for it because he would have taken my mind off the struggle and made me laugh.  Happy that it’s over….next Sunday is 12 miles.  Here’s hoping for the best and a wingman!

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

