It's A Journey!

Maybe It’s Me

I love motivating people and helping them get going with some fitness to help improve their attitude and health.  I feel important when someone comes to me asking questions or looking for a place to begin.  I’ve done this long enough to have a decent idea of how to put together a workout that is reasonable without scaring someone away from fitness forever.  What drives me crazy however, is a person who doesn’t have enough motivation to stay with it for long and who comes back over and over again to keep starting from the beginning.  If they would just have a little will power to get through the tough days (schedule or determination) they wouldn’t be playing catch up.  I don’t know if I want to hug them or smack them more.  Maybe I don’t get it because I never quit.  I don’t understand quitting so I guess I have no tolerance for it so who is worse?  I DO get up at 4:45 if I need to in order to get my workout in because it’s that important to me.  I DO workout mid day giving up my sit down lunch if I have a busy schedule because it’s that important to me. I have gone to the gym to workout when the weather doesn’t let me go outside because working out and my health are just that important to me!  That’s how I see it.  I’m the master of my world and the creator of my schedule so why not do what I need to do to get what I want in a time that I can make it work?  I am sort of ashamed to admit that I’m very intolerant when it comes to someone looking to me who won’t get going.  I don’t mean can’t because it’s definitely a won’t situation.  See, if they wanted to, they would and nothing would get in the way.  If they wanted to that is.  How do I know this?  I know this because I’ve been desperate and at my rock bottom and when I tell you that when I made up my mind to finally get out of my own damn way and make the changes to change my life, NOTHING got in my way!    I guess I won’t ever be a coach to anyone other than someone who just does what I tell them to do who is full of energy and is self motivated.  That’s terrible but understandable don’t you think?  Maybe I don’t really understand what it takes to be someone’s coach.  Maybe that’s a good thing that I’m not.

I’m currently working on a workout schedule for someone who complains about their current weight, won’t admit that their back pain is 80% due to ill health and fitness, refuses to take ownership for controlling their life and is clearly unhappy and is inconsistent with their effort.  I’m doing this as a favor to help them out.  The thing is that they are unwilling to do the hard things to make it better like get up at 5am regularly or workout at 9pm when their day is done.  I feel like this work I’m doing (for free mind you) is a big waste of time that I’ll just put in the “I knew it” bin.  It’s making me crazy and I haven’t even finished their shiny new schedule yet!  We’re using a new tool to try and help with organization and accountability so maybe that’s the thing that will make a difference.  We shall see how it all works out.  My hope is that over the next few months this person can make it work in a schedule that is about to get much busier.  If they can do that, then I’ll be able to let go and watch them forge their own fitness plan and schedule knowing that I helped get them started.  If not, I’ll be having an “I told myself so” bonfire with the schedules I worked out that went to waste.  Stay tuned!

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

