2017 · brenna gimler · Coaching · Encouraging · happiness · Life · Motivating Others · motivation

Community Service For Your Soul

Today I was slow.  I ran a 12:11 first mile and slow similar miles for 2 & 3.  I wasn’t out of breath but I talked and talked and talked.  I spent 36 minutes running and could have run another 3 but I stopped.  Today was not about me or training or about my race.  It wasn’t about time or fitness or bragging rights.  Today I ran with my daughter who is at one of the lowest points in her life struggling with weight.  I have been there and I know that struggle.  I know the demons that close in at night when there is nothing to do but wait it out until daylight when your responsibilities keep your mind busy until you do it all over again.  She asked me to help her and how does one say no to someone reaching out for help?  I wish someone had been there to help me  instead of me clawing my way out all alone.  So I put a plan together for her and I got up at 4:45 and we got out the door just after 5am.  Together we started and I did most of the talking which consisted mainly of running basics and only concentrating on one step at a time and finishing because today that’s all that mattered.  I talked about things to keep in mind about good form and safe running and running for self satisfaction.  I think I threw up every running thing I’ve learned as we ran.  I just kept talking so she could mainly stay quiet and concentrate on not puking LOL.  We stopped and sipped Powerade every mile so she could take a breather and much to her surprise she made it all 3 miles!  You see when you’re alone and struggling the desire to stop outweighs the desire to power through it especially when you’re fighting extra weight and a bulging disc in your back all you want is a reason or an excuse to stop so there is no guilt.  It’s really hard.  Period.

So today was all about a memory for me.  It was about being there when someone needed help to encourage them and show them the way.  It was like reaching out my hand to help Fat Brenna and tell her that everything will be ok.  It felt wonderful to be there for a first all while hoping it wasn’t the last.  It made me feel good and made all the normal thoughts about pace and time and form and things that needed me to do them back at home go away leaving only a sole purpose and that was to be inspiring to someone.  It filled me with sunshine on a dreary cloudy day and that is something that you can’t buy.  May you have days where it’s all about you because you need those days but may you also have days where it’s all about someone else because that is like community service for your soul.

 

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

