2017 · Blessings · brenna gimler · Discipline · Family · Finishers Medal · happiness · Hitting your Goals

The Moments That Tell You That You’ve Arrived!

So there are things along this journey to being fitter that are kind of like milestones for me.  One is pulling on clothes that I like in a size that makes me smile.  Another is when your friends or co-workers tell you that you look good which is always nice.  One of my favorite all time motivational smile-infusing happiness-creating things that have happened to me is when my kids tell me nice things without trying to make me feel good.  Let me explain what I mean by that. 

I know that I look good.  Good compared to my old self and the healthiest that I’ve ever been.  Good is relative I realize because I understand that I am not shaped like Barbie or the tall and skinnies of the world and that is just fine with me.  I am happy with the 161 average weight that I seem to hover over these days because I’m muscular and in fact also shorter at 5′ 4″ tall.  This means that I tend to grow out instead of up or evenly distributing my ever fluctuating weight because that’s the law of physics.  I will never be Jessica Rabbit or have Heidi Klum’s legs sadly. I’m me and I know my boundaries and I’m fine with them.  My job is managing all of that within the confines of the fitness routine I put in and keeping it all in check to stay between 150-165 roughly.  I am always striving to get to the bottom of that range but truthfully I don’t care if I never see the big one-five-oh again.  I work out and I work out pretty regularly, by choice and sometimes twice a day.  It’s a little bit of an addiction and definitely a habit for sure. Something I’m just always working on like Mr. Holland’s Opus, just not ever done.  I want to live to the crazy age of 96 so this is a good path to help me get there.

Now nothing and I mean nothing means more to me in this world than my kids.  It is super important that they are proud of me and want to be with me and talk to me and hug me and hopefully always like my kisses! I hope they always tell me about their days be it good or crappy.  I would die if I couldn’t be with and around them.  They are just awesome!  So, in the flow of two conversations recently, one with each son (19 and 17 respectively),  we were discussing super skinny something or other and I said to one son that if whatever the statement were, was true I’d be super skinny.  His answer melted me to pause my thought and compose my fast melting self.  He said “You are super skinny Mom.” and he kept moving on with his thoughts about whatever it was that we were talking about.  He wasn’t looking for accolades or a hug or even a response.  It was his honest opinion.  PAUSE: my son thinks I’m super skinny!  woo hoo!  On another day not long thereafter I was talking to the other son about something weight related (not necessarily mine) and whatever I said it prompted him to say “well it’s harder to get any smaller than you Mom, you work out all the time.” and he too proceeded to add to the conversation as if he had just said “the sky is blue”.

There it was again from a different source.  From the one who wouldn’t sugar coat something to make you feel good (that’s his father in him). They both simply had said what they believed to be true which was like getting the best race bling ever!  For those of you who do not know I am a medal whore.  I Race for the prize because why should I not be rewarded for running for 2+ hours right?  As I reflected on these thoughts that my sons had about me, it occurred to me that I have reached a personal milestone in my healthy lifestyle endeavor in this life.  I have achieved the admiration of my kids who are proud of me for all this crazy hard work that I do.  It’s become so much a part of who I now am that they don’t question it as being Mom’s new workout habit but more like part of what their Mom does.  Some mom’s garden (I do that too) and some Moms do crafts and some Moms drive trucks.  My kid’s Mom cooks great meals, sings new words to old songs, runs in the rain, would do anything for her kids to be happy and she also does fitness and that’s cool to them.  I couldn’t have gotten two better compliments in the world than those two matter of fact statements made in passing by my sons.

Well, that was longer than expected but sometimes they are.  Remember that there are those moments that tell you that you’ve arrived that you have to cherish and lock away for the days where you feel like you aren’t doing anything right.  They are the moments that motivate us and push us to strive for more every day.

HAPPY RUNNING!

Leave a Reply

